Urban Beekeeping

URBAN BEEKEEPING SERIES

The Urban Beekeeping Series is taught by seasoned beekeeping instructors and long-time members of the urban beekeeping group, Toronto Beekeeper’s Cooperative. This series gives you hands-on experience with managing hives, as well as provides you with simple steps to support honeybees and other important pollinators in the city, whether you intend to keep your own bees or just enjoy learning about their care.

Including in-class and “in-hive” components, this series provides grounding in basic beekeeping. Please choose Group A (more weekdays) or Group B (more weekends) when registering. Some sessions combine both groups.
Instructors: Mylee Nordin, Cathy Kozma and Oliver Couto.
Group A: PG17W20 Public $300; Members $250
Group B: PG17W21 Public $300; Members $250

SOLD OUT FOR 2017

If you would like to be on the email notification list for 2018 session, please email the Adult education coordinator at adulted@torontobotanicalgarden.ca


Session 2: Design & Plant a Pollinator Garden
groups A & B: Sunday, April 23, 1 to 4 p.m.
Rain date: Sunday, April 30, 1 to 4 p.m.
See flowers from a bee’s perspective. Learn which plants provide optimum nutrition to honeybees throughout the growing season, as well as optimum honey for the beekeeper.

Session 3: Plan the Season & Check the Spring Hive
Group A: Friday, May 12, 1 to 4 p.m.
Rain date: Friday, May 26, 1 to 4 p.m.
Group B: Sunday, May 14, 1 to 4 p.m.
Rain date: Sunday, May 28, 1 to 4 p.m.
Experience an exciting time in the beekeeping season as bees wake up from their winter slumber. Don bee-keeping gear and learn about safety in the bee yard. Common challenges and their tried-and-true solutions will be discussed.

Session 4: The Summer Hive Check
Group A: Friday, June 9, 1 to 4 p.m.
Rain date: Friday, June 23, 1 to 4 p.m.
Group B: Sunday, June 11, 1 to 4 p.m.
Rain date: Sunday, June 25, 1 to 4 p.m.
Learn to handle hive equipment and identify the queen, worker and drone bees. Assess honey stores, look for signs of parasites and review organic solutions to this problem.

Session 5: The Honey Harvest
groups A & B: Sunday, July 23, noon to 4 p.m.
Rain date: Sunday, July 30, noon to 4 p.m.
This is the most exciting (and sticky!) time of the beekeeping season when bees and beekeepers share the bounty. Learn how to sort and pull honey from frames, remove wax cappings, extract liquid honey from honey¬combs, clean frames and return spun frames to the hive.

Session 6: Honey Jarring & Processing
Group A & B: Sunday, Aug. 20, 1 to 4 p.m.
Learn how to harvest honey, so that it is ready to enjoy and share, and render wax to be used in candles, soap and lip balm.

Session 7: Late Summer Hive Check and review
Group A: Friday, Aug. 25, 1 to 4 p.m.
Rain date: Friday, Sept. 8, 1 to 4 p.m.
Group B: Sunday, Aug. 27, 1 to 4 p.m.
Rain date: Sunday, Sept. 17, 1 to 4 p.m.
Review what you have learned in the classroom and bee yard to prepare for beekeeping on your own.

Session 8: Put the Bees to Bed
Group A & B: Sunday, Nov. 5, 1 to 4 p.m.
Wrap up the season by conducting a final check for parasites, wrapping the hives and ensuring equipment is ready for winter storage. Students will go home with a jar of honey.

 

Share this:

Related Posts