Aster Awards

Toronto Botanical Garden is pleased to announce its third annual Aster Awards reception  on Thursday, November 19 at 6:30 to 9 p.m. The award title of “Aster” is inspired by the Greek word for “star”.

This year’s Aster Awards highlight three of Canada’s “green” stars:

Roberta Bondar
Dr. Roberta Bondar, a multi-disciplinary thought-leader with groundbreaking achievements and leadership in the arts, sciences and environment. Dr. Bondar draws on her remarkable depth of experience as an astronaut, physician, scientific researcher, photographer, author and role model to educate, inspire and motivate us to preserve nature. (The Roberta Bondar Foundation)
Geoff Cape
Geoff Cape, founder of Evergreen and CEO since 1990. Sustainability pioneer, urban visionary and leading ravine strategist, Geoff Cape inspires us to live “greener” lives within resilient natural and urban landscapes.
Arlene Throness
The Rising Star Award will recognize the commitment and achievements of Arlene Throness, Coordinator of Rye’s Homegrown Rooftop Farm at Ryerson University. Arlene Throness has worked in farms, kitchens and greenhouses across Canada, always looking to share innovative ways to bring local resources into the food cycle.

Thursday, November 19, 2015
Cocktail reception: 6:30 p.m. | Awards ceremony: 7:30 p.m.

TICKETS $15o per person ($1,500 for a table of 10)
All proceeds from this event support the Toronto Botanical Garden. A charitable tax receipt will be issued after the event for the maximum allowable amount.


For more information or to purchase your tickets over the phone call Christine Lawrance 416-397-1321 or spevents@torontobotanicalgarden.ca

For a complete list of sponsorship opportunities, please contact Claudia Zuccato Ria, 416-397-1372 or development@torontobotanicalgarden.ca

2014 Aster Award recipients:

  • Margaret Atwood, one of Canada’s most prominent and prolific contemporary writers. 
  • Dr. Paul Hebert, best known for leading the development of DNA-based identification systems. 
  • Kanaka Kulendran & Xuan-Yen Cao, garden and food educators from The Stop Community Food Centre

2013 Aster Award recipients:

  • Janet Rosenberg, a recognized figure in landscape architecture and urban design across Canada.
  • Edward Burtynsky, known as one of Canada’s most respected photographers.
  • Scott MacIvor, an ecologist with research interests in biodiversity and ecological trade offs in urban areas and in architectural and landscape design.

Aster Awards 2014 Photo Gallery

Aster Awards 2013 Photo Gallery

Share this:

Related Posts